The E-1 allows citizens of certain countries to obtain a work visa to develop or run a business in the United States (import / export).

The first condition of the visa is that you must belong to one of the countries with which the U.S. has an agreement of that type.

These are the countriesthat allow migratory privileges, thanks to their agreement with the U.S.: Germany, Argentina, Australia, Austria, Belgium, Bolivia, Bosnia-Herzegovina, Brunei, Canada, Chile, Colombia, South Korea, Costa Rica, Croatia, Denmark, Spain, Estonia, Ethiopia, Finland, France, Greece, Holland, Honduras, Iran, Ireland, Israel, Italy, Japan, Jordan, Kosovo, Latvia, Liberia, Luxembourg, Macedonia, Mexico, Montenegro, Norway, Oman, Pakistan, Paraguay, Poland, United Kingdom, Serbia, Singapore, Suriname, Sweden, Switzerland, Thailand, Taiwan, Togo, Turkey and Yugoslavia

Other Requirements

  • The person or company requesting the visa must already have significant trade with the United States.
  • The trade does not have to be about goods, it can also be services.
  • The U.S. must be the source or destination of more than 50 percent of the trade that has the visa applicant.
  • The visa applicant must have enough experience and knowledge of business to develop and run the business.
  • This is a nonimmigrant visa. This means that its holder must leave the United States once his or her visa is canceled or not renewed.

For Whom Are These Visas?

  • For executives and business managers. Generally,
    the visa is approved in 4-6 weeks.
  • For essential workers or specialists. In these cases it is more difficult to get approval.
  • For relatives of an E-1 visa holder.

Validity of the Visa

Indefinite, while the trade relations between the U.S. and the country of the visa applicant is substantial.

Initially, it is granted for two years, but it can be extended for two more years. You may renew it, however, as many times as needed.