More and more states are allowing undocumented immigrants to get driver’s licenses. Actually, at present, they can drive in 12 states plus the capital, Washington DC.

Here’s the list of the 12 states:

  • California
  • Colorado
  • Connecticut
  • Delaware
  • Hawaii
  • Illinois
  • Maryland,
  • Nevada
  • New Mexico
  • Utah
  • Vermont
  • Washington

To the list, we must add the Commonwealth of Puerto Rico and the District of Columbia (Washington DC).

The Dreamers who applied for the Deferred Action and whose request has been approved can now apply for a driver’s license in all states of the U.S. without exception.

In Order to Avoid Problems…

Many other states are considering similar measures. It’s expected that the number of states that allow undocumented immigrants to get the driver’s license will increase in the future.

It’s important to be clear about the limits of the international driver’s license and to remember that it isn’t a legal substitute for a driver’s license in the United States.